Reflection for today…The Value of Money -Nikola Tesla

5 Nov

     “Money does not represent such a value as men have placed upon it.”

-Nikola Tesla

*

In this short video clip, Moby discusses the value of money.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zSGwVm-Tj_s

He notes, “the ultimate goal in acquiring money is to have enough money so you don’t have to worry about money. 

His observation, “the best thing about money is when you don’t have to pay attention to money” is paradoxical.

It is a paradox that you can stop paying attention to money only when you have money.

This begs the question of how much money does one need to have in order to stop paying attention to it? 

{I suspect that it varies from individual  to individual}.

Moby talks about how he grew up poor and even lived in an abandoned factory in a crack neighborhood.

*It should be noted that at no point in time does he complain about the poverty he experienced.

One senses an air of gratitude from Moby for these experiences.

His humble beginnings are quite the contrast to his massive success as a musician. I believe that Moby truly deserves and enjoys his success- financial and otherwise.

His last point was that he doesn’t understand the pursuit of money for the sake of money.

Chasing money for the sake of money sounds like greed to me.

Greed

To me it seems that Moby is asking existential questions about human existence.

Specifically, he is questioning purpose and what brings happiness and satisfaction. 

He does not think that happiness is derived solely from money.

Moby Loves Animals & Is An Animal Activist…

However, Moby notes that money can improve the quality of your life.

Sociology teaches us that a person’s income and social status greatly impacts their health and quality of life.

Sadly, society is not a level playing field; hence, the vital and urgent importance of social equality is understood.

Moby invites us to define success and find happiness and satisfaction on own our terms. 

*

Please enjoy Paid in Full by the legendary Eric B & Rakim

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7t8eoA_1jQ

*

Do you agree or disagree with Moby?

Why or why not?

What does success mean to you?

What brings you happiness and satisfaction in life?

*

For more information…

Nikola Tesla…http://www.pbs.org/tesla/ll/index.html

Moby…http://www.moby.com

Eric B. & Rakim…http://www.ericbnrakim.com

*

Moby Wishes You Peace, Love and Happiness…

6 Responses to “Reflection for today…The Value of Money -Nikola Tesla”

  1. Slayer Muser November 17, 2013 at 11:53 PM #

    … and it gives you independence and freedom.

    I think a lot about the meaning and importance of money. Do you have a good relationship with money?

    “Paid in Full” – awesome.

    Reminded me of:

    Great post. You are excelling yourself.

    • MYSOULSONICE... November 18, 2013 at 11:18 AM #

      Slayer Muser…
      Thank you so much for the kind compliment.
      It means a lot coming from professor Slayer Muser ;).

      Money does give independence and freedom.
      Perhaps that is why so many people want it.
      I think that a lot of people also want money for the social status and lifestyle it affords.
      {Some people even identify themselves with the money that they have
      Others let their money define them}.

      Lately I have been meditating on the meaning and value of money as well.

      As for my relationship with money…It is a healthier relationship now.
      I think that as you mature, you learn to respect money.
      Now I see money as a form of energy that is finite.

      *What about your relationship with money?

      I am happy that you enjoyed Paid In Full- a true hip hop classic.

      Peace & Love…
      *More money posts coming up…

      • Slayer Muser November 21, 2013 at 7:30 AM #

        Nice money shot!

        Hmmm. I don’t think I get on very well with money. I find it quite confusing actually. My parents always drummed into me the importance of having money. I’m not saying they wanted me to be a millionaire; it was more about me being secure, being able to fend for myself, and being able to provide for a future family. All sounds very dull, huh?

        If someone came up to me and said, “I’ve got a billion euros in cash in the back of my car. Do you want it?” I would say “Yes”. But if someone came up and said, “If you slog your guts out in a job you hate, you will be a millionaire when you’re 60. What d’you reckon?” I’d probably tell him to go fuck himself. Here’s the rub. Because in order to become rich, or at least very comfortable, human beings – yes, human beings, not human doings – have to dedicate three-quarters of their waking life to being (all right, doing) miserable. This is so, so sad. And you can’t spend your money in the grave. But children and grandchildren, etc.? Sure, but it’s still your life: live it how you want.

        Sometimes I dream of being disgustingly rich. So rich that I can simply lie on a chaise longue in just a robe, reading or listening to music, while naked women drop grapes into my mouth. I seriously wonder how this isn’t the case. I also don’t understand how it is that some fairly ordinary people are really well-off and others with far more talent or interest aren’t. It doesn’t seem fair.

        I can only conclude that, while I like the idea of being rich, I am not willing to do, or not interested in doing, the hard yards to “achieve” it. I’m more concerned with how I’m feeling or what I’m doing right now. Perhaps I should conclude, in Descartian manner:

        I’m not rich, because I don’t want to be.

  2. Slayer Muser November 27, 2013 at 11:46 PM #

    Heard this in the car this morning. It comes from Paracelsus, Swiss-German Renaissance physician, botanist, alchemist, astrologer and general occultist who spent years wandering and regarded Nature as his teacher.

    “I desire neither to live comfortably, nor do I wish to become rich. Happiness is better than riches, and happy is he who wanders about, possessing nothing that requires his care. He who wants to study the book of nature must wander with his feet over its leaves.”

    • MYSOULSONICE... December 10, 2013 at 10:55 AM #

      I love that you remembered this Paracelsus quote.
      Thank you so much for sharing it.
      It reminds me of Henry David Thoreau’s philosophy of living in nature.

      Perhaps nature offers us all the wisdom we need.
      Or is it simply solitude that affords us the space to go within and be with our own reflections and epiphanies?
      Henry David Thoreau Simplify
      Peace & Love…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reflection for today…Nobility In Poverty- Ricky Gervais | MYSOULSONICE - December 11, 2013

    […] Reflection for today…The Value of Money -Nikola Tesla (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com)  […]

Does This Awaken Your Soul???

