Reflection for today…Till Death Do Us Part -Larry David

4 Apr

Curb your enthusiasm is one of the most brilliant comedy shows to grace television.

Larry David is the infamous creator of Seinfeld.

In this short clip, he discusses renewing his vows with his wife Cheryl.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DtGcQyKfid8

She wants their relationship to continue into the afterlife.

Larry isn’t so sure…

Larry David makes comedy out of awkwardness…

“You mean this is continuing into the afterlife?

I thought this was over at death.

I didn’t know we went into eternity together.

Isn’t that what it said…till death do us part.”

His “plan” for eternity was to be single.

“I just didn’t realize that this relationship carried over after death.

Can we take out the eternity part?”

Hilarious 😉 

Larry David: Comedic Genius

Larry doesn’t have much of a vocal filter.

He is painfully honest and equally hilarious.

*

For more information on Curb your enthusiasm,

please visit…

Curb’s internet movie database page:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0264235/

The official HBO website:

http://www.hbo.com/curb-your-enthusiasm/index.html

*

Peace & Namaste…

40 Responses to “Reflection for today…Till Death Do Us Part -Larry David”

  1. Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 12:58 AM #

    Got it!

    Love ‘CYE’. I never got beyond half-way through Season 1. Sorry to jump straight into crudity, but the episode where he awkwardly uses the “Cunt” word particularly sticks in my mind. More posts, therefore, like this, please.

    • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 1:08 AM #

      I ADORE curb your enthusiasm!
      Pretty pretty pretty good
      In fact, I am watching a youtube clip right now.
      I should be sleeping because I have to get up early but life’s too short to not laugh..

      Do you think Curb is better than Seinfeld?
      I think it is.

      The thing with curb is that I see a lot of myself in Larry David.
      I don’t care for small talk.
      I often try to avoid social situations.

      {However, I do lack his blunt honesty}.

      Larry is “too honest.”

      This past month was slightly hellish- illness combined with harsh challenges and being super busy made me realize the need for comedy in my life.
      I am celebrating comedy again.
      We all need it!

      About your comment…no worries about the C word.
      That clip was funny.

      I plan to do some more curb your enthusiasm posts and comedy posts in the near future.

      *Laughter is medicine!

      Peace…

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 1:19 AM #

        Yes.

        Are you studying Creative Design at uni by any chance?

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 1:42 AM #

        Slayer Muser…
        No I am not studying creative design.
        What exactly is “creative design.”

        Why did you think I was studying this {if you don’t mind me asking}?

        I do love creativity and I am so intrigued by the creative process.

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 1:49 AM #

        Due to the impeccable layout of your blog and all its amazing images, pictures, photographs and paintings.

        I now recall you saying you studied psychology and English literature. Forgive the memorial aberration.

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 2:21 AM #

        No worries friend.
        I am surprised that you remembered 😉

        What is creative design?
        Do you mean web design?
        It sounds cool though.

        I had a time where I almost studied graphic design.
        I played with the idea of jewellery design {but not very seriously}.
        {There were jewellery designers in my family so who knows if I would have been a decent jewellery designer}.

        Maybe I’ll just be a graffiti artist…:)

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 1:34 AM #

        “too honest”? You’re right, but I love him for it. As you say, he has no filter from brain to mouth. I’m a bit like this too; not because I can’t help it, like him, but because I choose to be. It’s too boring not being like this.

        ‘Seinfeld’? Not seen it. Doubtless you will tell me I haven’t lived.

        I passionately share your view on small talk. See #6 here: http://slayermusings.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/20-most-annoying-things-in-the-world/

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 1:53 AM #

        “Too honest” by societal standards {that’s why it is in quotation marks}.

        I love him for his honesty as well.
        His comedy wouldn’t be the same without his honesty.
        He wouldn’t be Larry David


        Seinfeld is good but really curb is better {in my humble opinion}.

        Small talk is so pointless- unless it turns into a meaningful/soulful conversation.
        But most of the time it doesn’t.
        It is a dead end that you just want to get out of- a mental cul-de-sac.

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 2:03 AM #

        If someone tries to indulge me in small talk, I just walk away.

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 2:09 AM #

        Ha ha.
        You are definitely more like Larry David than I am.

        I guess I am more like Larry internally {thoughts/emotions} more so than externally {actions}.

        What if it was a she and you were attracted to her?
        Would you still walk away?

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 2:24 AM #

        Amazing question! I think you know the answer!

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 2:28 AM #

        Yes.
        I already know the answer 😉

        I would like to request a post from you as well.
        Would you please do a post on how you are like Larry David.

        What do you think?

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 2:47 AM #

        Great request. But in order to do the job properly, I would need to watch the entire production to date. This could take some time. How many seasons are there?

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 2:54 AM #

        There are eight seasons to date.

        Well, it can be a future post.
        It can be in your blog food folder.

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 3:04 AM #

        How many hours of viewing is that?

        It’s on my WordPress ‘To do’. At the moment, however, I simply don’t have the source material to do justice to your lofty request. No doubt my subconscious will ruminate on the subject meantime, ideally if not pointedly.

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 3:10 AM #

        No worries.
        Put it on your future to do blog posts.
        {It would take you a long time to watch all that curb.
        It will be fun though}.

      • MYSOULSONICE April 10, 2013 at 12:46 AM #

        Slayer Muser…
        I was thinking that you could possibly do a “how I resemble Larry David” post by season…


        “He notes that his Curb character is “my version of Superman. The character really is me, but I just couldn’t possibly behave like that. If I had my druthers, that would be me all the time, but you can’t do that. We’re always doing things we don’t want to do, we never say what we really feel, and so this is an idealized version of how I want to be. As crazy as this person is, I could step into those shoes right now, but I would be arrested or I’d be hit or whatever.”

      • Slayer Muser April 10, 2013 at 2:27 AM #

        Amazing quotation – thank you. Interesting and inspiring. His motivation for writing and acting is very similar to mine. I’m starting to think that I’m not really a writer: I’m a fantasist who paints with words. I believe that the more I live in tune with what I write, the happier I will be. I am fascinated in (and really quite pissed off by) the way that we think and feel so much that we don’t say, do or express.

        Good idea about taking it season by season. What’s the best way to eat an elephant? One mouthful at a time.

        By the way, don’t know whether you knew this, but Larry David used to be very handsome. Check this, number 12:
        http://www.buzzfeed.com/daves4/when-celebrities-were-young

      • MYSOULSONICE April 19, 2013 at 3:28 PM #

        I loved what you said about being “a fantasist who paints with words.”
        {That is cool because I also think of myself painting with words}.

        I found this quote/image and thought of what you said.

        I do agree that you will be happiest if your internal world guides your behaviour.
        {Easier in theory than in practice}.

        Why do you think we hold back so much in life?
        Is it fear based?

        Thanks for the young Larry David picture.
        Yes, he was quite handsome.

      • Slayer Muser April 25, 2013 at 6:51 AM #

        Brilliant quotation and picture. So I guess da Vinci should have called it “Moaner Lisa”. (Love split bloomers too. So forbidden yet so accessible…)

        Partly fear or partly cowardice? Anyhoo, going on, partly judgment, partly over-concern about other people’s opinions, partly living according to what others think we should be rather than what we actually are – these could all be synonyms. Another potential block is other people’s embarrassment. Do you mind seeing others embarrassed or feeling awkward? I don’t. In fact, I revel in it!

        Steaming through Season 3 of “Californication”. Hank Moody, I am concluding, is the literarily libidinous version of Larry David. He, too, has no brain-mouth filter. Makes him so much more entertaining and enlightening. Go free, I reckon. Be wild. Never die wondering.

      • MYSOULSONICE April 10, 2013 at 12:48 AM #

        Yes I do know the answer…

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 2:34 AM #

        I’d probably say, “C’mon, let’s cut the crap,” and in true Ron Burgundy style, say something like, “I… don’t know how to say this, but… I’m kind of a big deal. People know me. I have many leather-bound books… and my apartment smells of rich mahogany… I guess what I’m try’n’a say is… that… you… have… an absolutely breathtaking… heinie. I mean, that thing is good. I want to be friends with it… Can I start over again? I wanna say something. I’m gonna put it out there. If you like it, you can take it. If you don’t, send it right back… I wanna be on you. Wait. Wait, wait, wait, wait, wait… [sipping cocktail as she walks away] I… I wanna be on you.”

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 2:38 AM #

        I thought this might work better…

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 2:45 AM #

        Brilliant. Humility works wonders.

        Humbly yours.

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 2:47 AM #

        Yes, humility is magic.

        I love the self deprecating humor that Larry David and Ricky Gervais like to portray.

        Humbly accepted…:)

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 2:52 AM #

        Shit film, but reminds me of this:

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 2:56 AM #

        Eeekkk…a Jennifer Aniston romantic comedy.
        Run!

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 3:05 AM #

        Ch’yeah, but she was good in “Horrible Bosses”. Admit it.

      • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 3:08 AM #

        Admit what?
        I have never seen “horrible bosses.”

      • Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 3:18 AM #

        Watch it.

      • MYSOULSONICE... November 18, 2013 at 2:10 PM #

        I saw this video clip of Stephen Merchant and I thought to myself,
        “this is something Olly would do” :).

        Would you react this way to this situation?

      • Slayer Muser November 21, 2013 at 7:47 AM #

        Exactly!

        Although I probably wouldn’t have allowed their lame interaction to drag on so long. Shortly after the varsity dialogue, I’d have picked him up and thrown him out of the carriage window. Lesson in Nazism.

        Know this clip well. I’ve heard it hundreds of times on my “The Ricky Gervais Show” CDs.

      • MYSOULSONICE... December 10, 2013 at 11:06 AM #

        I can imagine that you would interject and offer your sage advice.
        Surely you would seduce the fair maiden and Stephen Merchant would take notes ;).

        What do you mean about Nazism?

        As for the Ricky Gervais show…
        I have not heard it yet.
        It is one to listen to since I am an admirer/fan of Ricky Gervais.
        I really need to watch/listen to more of Stephen Merchant as well.
        He and Ricky make a brilliant and hilarious comedic team.

        Peace…

  2. Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 1:21 AM #

    And we all go through phases or seasons of emotion, like waves on the ocean. Pointless and fake to be sad all the time or happy all the time. Enjoy your comedy season. I’m in a maudlin/comedy phase right now. Quite enjoying it too.

    • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 1:45 AM #

      “Like waves on the ocean.”
      Beautiful and so poetic.
      Life ebbs and flows like the waves in the ocean- like the waves of consciousness.

  3. Slayer Muser April 6, 2013 at 1:24 AM #

    This is the clip I was thinking of:

    Gold.

    • MYSOULSONICE April 6, 2013 at 1:46 AM #

      Oh…this is the clip.

      Yes, its gold and platinum 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reflection for today…The Horrors of Social Intercourse -Larry David | MYSOULSONICE - April 14, 2013

    […] Reflection for today…Till Death Do Us Part -Larry David (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Reflection for today…The Horrors of Social Intercourse -Larry David | MYSOULSONICE - May 29, 2013

    […] Reflection for today…Till Death Do Us Part -Larry David (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Larry David Meditates on Happiness… | MYSOULSONICE - November 17, 2013

    […] Reflection for today…Till Death Do Us Part -Larry David (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

Does This Awaken Your Soul???

