Reflection for today…Keeping Memories Alive -Haruki Murakami

19 Feb

“No matter how much suffering you went through,

you never wanted to let go of those memories.” 
Haruki Murakami

Pinned Image

*

Most of the pictures are from the brilliant film Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind.

I highly recommend it!

*

Please enjoy “The Only Thing I Know” by Gotye

http://www.youtube.com/watch?NR=1&v=QvnJaq6VD7U&feature=endscreen

“I’m living with your memory
In the attic in my mind
And you’ve been getting by without me
But I’ve been spending all my time
With a girl that I remember
Who’ll never leave or need to grow
Cos when you left you left your memory
Now it’s the only thing I know

When the past gives me no comfort
And though the future is the cost
The way I’m choosing to remember
I’ll forever be the man I never was

And you, you fade
But the memory remains the same
And I, I can’t change
And I think that living with your memory
Is slowly driving me insane

You are perfect but you’re empty
And it gets so lonely in my mind
Cos your image in my memory’s
The only shred of you that’s left behind
You were real but then you left me
And that’s the part I can’t accept
So I’ll keep on living with your memory
Because it’s all that I’ve got left.”

*

For more information…

 Haruki Murakami…http://www.murakami.ch/main_2.html

or his official UK website: http://www.murakamibooks.co.uk/

Gotye’s Official Website…http://gotye.com/

*

Peace & Namaste…

13 Responses to “Reflection for today…Keeping Memories Alive -Haruki Murakami”

  1. Slayer Muser February 19, 2013 at 1:33 AM #

    Love that film and ADORE Jim Carrey, one of my true heroes. Have you seen “The Number 23”? Love that too. Must re-watch.

    On the theme of memory loss, take it you’ve seen “Memento”? Awesome film, and it has our Matrix-friend Carrie-Anne Moss in it. “The Notebook” explores memory loss in heart-splitting fashion too.

    Love,
    Olly

    • MYSOULSONICE February 20, 2013 at 1:47 AM #

      Slayer Muser…
      I also LOVE Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind!
      Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind
      It is just so brilliant.

      One of the best relationship movies ever because it depicts them so well.

      Tell me why do you adore Jim Carrey?
      I loved him in this film and liked him in In Living Color.
      I prefer him in a dramatic role.
      Isn’t it amazing that comedians can do drama so well {e.g. Robin Williams in Dead Poets Society and Good Will Hunting?}.

      I have not seen The Number 23 but I have always wanted to see it.
      I am so intrigued by it.
      It is on the movie watching list 😉

      I have seen Memento a long time ago.
      I will have to re-watch it as well.

      I haven’t seen The Notebook yet.

      Peace…
      P.s. How did you know that I love The Matrix?
      The Matrix

      • Slayer Muser February 20, 2013 at 8:06 AM #

        “Tell me why do you adore Jim Carrey?”

        Interesting question. No one’s ever asked me before. And I’ve never really analysed it. From the first time I saw him in “Ace Ventura”, and then “The Mask” he always made me laugh, feel warm. I used to (and still do) impersonate him to good effect. “Liar Liar” really made me laugh, especially the out-takes at the end. Then we saw a different side with “The Truman Show”, which effected me profoundly. He’s great. Clearly he is deep. I think he has had times of darkness and depression, which adds depth to him as a person and an actor. AND he’s into spirituality (not that this has anything to do with him as a performer). I think he is friends with Eckart Tolle:

        Why do YOU like / love him?

        Agreed about Robin Williams. Loved “Dead Poet’s Society” and “Good Will Hunting” is in my Top 5 Favourite Films of all time.

        Do watch “The Number 23”. He is dark in this. I have to re-watch.

        Not seen The Notebook?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do it – NOW! (And “P.S. I Love You.”)

        “The Matrix”? Your THE CHOICE IS YOURS… Blue Pill or Red Pill? picture on your home page. Kind of a giveaway. I am officially in love with “The Matrix”. It is my No. 1 film of all time.

        Stay real / in love.

      • MYSOULSONICE February 21, 2013 at 3:05 AM #

        Slayer Muser…

        To be honest, I don’t love Jim Carrey.
        I liked him in In Living Color and loved him in The Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind.
        I have yet to see The Number 23 but you said that it is dark so I will probably love it.

        Jim Carrey was very poor growing up so that must have had a deep impact on him as a human being.
        If he has been through darkness, then it only enhances his performances and character {as you said}.
        I am sure that he is deep and knowing that he is into spirituality further proves this.

        {Thanks for the Jim Carrey introduces Eckhart Tolle video clip}.

        Why did The Truman show have such an impact on you?

        I am also in love with The Matrix.

        Peace…

  2. Slayer Muser February 21, 2013 at 7:00 AM #

    Good observations.

    Re: “The Truman Show”

    I didn’t have any expectations. I knew Jim Carrey was in it – good for starters – but it was refreshing to see him in a more serious and dramatic role (cf. “Man on the Moon” (1999), which has a similar bittersweetness). There was such a convincing desperation about him and his character. Gradually and increasingly, they knew something was wrong; an itch or a “splinter in [their] mind”. They so wanted to know the truth. This curiosity turned into a burning desire which, once ignited, couldn’t be stopped. I remember him scrambling towards the light. I need to re-watch it to comment better, but I seem to remember it being a victory of individual being over corporate governance. Natascha McElhone was beautiful and Ed Harris very solid indeed.

    That’s all I’ve got for now.

    • MYSOULSONICE February 22, 2013 at 2:43 AM #

      Slayer Muser…
      I just wanted to let you know that I will write back properly to your comments tomorrow or the following day.

      It is late and it was an especially tough day at the gym.
      Sleep calls me.

      I hope you enjoy Alice {Syfy Channel}.

      Peace…

      • Slayer Muser February 22, 2013 at 4:31 AM #

        Were you working out a lot? Or do you work in the gym?

        Sleep a creative sleep.

      • MYSOULSONICE February 22, 2013 at 12:14 PM #

        Slayer Muser…
        No, I do not work in a gym.
        I was just working out.
        It has been really stressful lately and during these times I like to intensify my work-outs.

        *Thanks for “sleep a creative sleep.”
        It sounds as though you are a lucid dreamer?
        Do you solve problems in your sleep?

        Peace…

      • Slayer Muser February 26, 2013 at 12:50 AM #

        I don’t know.

        As a shipping lawyer, I am, by definition, a problem-solver. So I solve problems while I’m awake. I hope I don’t solve shipping problems during my sleep. In fact, I hope I don’t solve any problems in my sleep… because in my dreamworld, there aren’t any problems.

        I think this is partly why I (like to) daydream. No problems there either.

        I hope my dreaming, sleeping and waking, is relaxing and fruitful.

        You?

      • Slayer Muser July 2, 2013 at 3:53 AM #

        Every night we should realize that our rest does not bring to a close God’s activity in our experience, but that Love is the protecting influence and substance of our rest, that Consciousness is imparting Its ideas to us even in sleep, that Principle is the guiding law throughout the night. Nothing from without can enter consciousness to defile, and this truth stands guard at our mental portals to admit only reality and its harmonies.

        Be a beholder, a witness. Watch the unveiling of the Christ in your consciousness.

        [Joel S. Goldsmith, ‘The Infinite Way’, 64-65]

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reflection for today…Memories -Haruki Murakami | MYSOULSONICE - March 5, 2013

    […] Reflection for today…Keeping Memories Alive -Haruki Murakami (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Reflection for today…The Salvation of Love -Haruki Murakami | MYSOULSONICE - March 6, 2013

    […] Reflection for today…Keeping Memories Alive -Haruki Murakami (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Reflection for today…The Storm Is Inside Of You- Haruki Murakami | MYSOULSONICE - November 12, 2013

    […] Reflection for today…Keeping Memories Alive- Haruki Murakamai (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

Does This Awaken Your Soul???

