Reflection for today…Awakening Compassion -Pema Chödrön

9 Jan

Learning how to be kind to ourselves is important.

When we look into our own hearts and begin to discover what is confused and what is brilliant, what is bitter and what is sweet, it isn’t just ourselves that we’re discovering.

We’re discovering the universe.

When we discover the buddha that we are, we realize that everything and everyone is Buddha.

We discover that everything is awake, and everyone is awake.

Everything and everyone is precious and whole and good. When we regard thoughts and emotions with humor and openness, that’s how we perceive the universe.”

Pema Chödrön

Peace & Namaste…

5 Responses to “Reflection for today…Awakening Compassion -Pema Chödrön”

  1. Jas Baku January 11, 2013 at 1:07 PM #

    That’s amazing – we’re discovering the universe when we discover ourselves.
    I think the universe is trying to tell me something too, the tag on my yogi tea today read:
    “If you cannot see God in all, you cannot see God at all.”
    Namaste.

    • MYSOULSONICE January 12, 2013 at 5:42 AM #

      Jas Baku…
      I love Pema’s writing.
      She is so wise and truly brilliant- as are many Buddhist teachers and spiritual teachers.

      I really believe that the greatest journey is the journey within.

      You drink Yogi tea?
      This {along with our communication} proves that we would be great friends in “real life” 😉

      I love Yogi tea!
      I love quotes- as you can probably tell by now.
      The tea is so good as well.

      There is a post on tea in the works but it is in its seed stage right now. I am working on others.
      Perhaps you can write a tea love post?

      Thich Nhat Hanh was talking about drinking tea in the Oprah interview.
      Perhaps I should post this interview so you can see it?

      Thich Nhat Hanh Living Mindfully Oprah Interview:

      *Of course he was speaking about mindfully drinking tea ‘)

      Thich Nhat Hanh Tea Meditation Video:

      Intuition is always something that I am trying to cultivate.

      Have a beautiful day friend!!!

      Peace & Love…

  2. Jas Baku January 17, 2013 at 2:41 PM #

    Yes, the the greatest journey is within. Outer journeys are merely reflections of this.
    In real life? Yes, I would very much like to share a brew with you in actual physical reality 🙂
    Quotes and images can succinctly convey convey meaning in a memorable way. I love that we can see an article, and it’ll pop into our heads sometime later for further contemplation. I so hope that I can do that for others.

    One of my favourite gathas from Thay:
    This cup of tea in my two hands,
    mindfulness held perfectly.
    My mind and body dwell
    in the very here and now.

    -Thich Nhat Hanh
    * Yes please post the interview!

    I’ve got my next few articles planned out, but maybe we can do a love tea post together?
    I’ve got some snapshots of pretty cups with yogi tea tags already on my phone, but they might never see the light else…

    • MYSOULSONICE February 5, 2013 at 1:57 PM #

      Jas Baku…
      Hello friend.
      I apologize for the belated response.
      Life got in the way for a while.

      Thank you so much for the Thay gatha.
      Could you please tell me what a gatha exactly is because I don’t know 😉

      I will post the Thich Nhat Hanh interview soon.
      Hopefully I will remember.

      I would love to do a tea post together!
      Do you have any idea as to how we would proceed?
      I haven’t done a post like that yet but I am excited.

      Something tells me that knowing you makes me a better person 😉

      Of course I would love to share some tea with you as well.

      Peace & Love…

      P.s. I just bought some Yogi Tea.
      I got Green Tea Goji Berry and Green Tea Kombucha.
      What is your favourite Yogi Tea and tea in general?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Reflection for today…What is Important In Life -Henry James | MYSOULSONICE - June 26, 2013

    […] Reflection for today…Awakening Compassion -Pema Chodron (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

Does This Awaken Your Soul???

