Reflection for today…To Live Is The Rarest Thing In The World -Oscar Wilde

17 Oct

“To live is the rarest thing in the world.

Most people exist, that is all. “

Oscar Wilde

So I ask myself…Am I actually living or simply existing?

I think this is a question we must continually ask ourselves.

Peace & Namaste…

14 Responses to “Reflection for today…To Live Is The Rarest Thing In The World -Oscar Wilde”

  1. Slayer Muser February 12, 2013 at 2:48 AM #

    How writers relay the spiritual baton; or express the same truth, just in different words.

    “Man is a prisoner of his mind. He is locked up inside his mind just as a little chick is locked up inside the egg. If it could look around inside the shell, it would see only darkness; it might even feel a sense of hunger and find no food there, and certainly, above all things, no companionship. In this lone, tightly locked up shell, that little chick must wonder what it has to live for. There is nothing for it to be happy about, but on the other hand, there is also nothing to be unhappy about: it has never known the world so it does not know what it is missing. All it knows is what it is experiencing while locked up inside the shell, and yet it does not even know that it is locked up inside its shell. [Very “The Matrix”.]

    As far as the chick is concerned, it might stay on there forever, living in that darkness. It might even find enough food in the shell to keep it alive. It would not really be living: it would be existing, and of itself it could no nothing about it. There it is, and it looks as if there it is doomed to be. But fortunately for these little chicks, there is something beyond themselves, there is something that causes a chick to peck at the shell, and to keep pecking and pecking at it until it breaks a hole in it and sees some light.”

    “A Parenthesis in Eternity” – Joel S. Goldsmith, Page 325

    • MYSOULSONICE February 12, 2013 at 6:18 AM #

      Slayer Muser…
      LOVED this quote.

      It reminded me of Plato’s the cave analogy.
      Plato's Cave Analogy

      Enlightened…
      Enlightened

      • Slayer Muser February 12, 2013 at 6:41 AM #

        Superb image. Thank you. Studied Plato’s cave at university but never saw a pictorial rendering. Brilliant. Upon the same, I shall muse.

        I often wish I could live in a cave. But I wonder whether wishing to live in a cave is in fact the same as sitting in the cave as illustrated above.

        Musing, wondering, pondering, existentialising…

      • MYSOULSONICE February 12, 2013 at 6:46 AM #

        Slayer Muser…
        It comes as no surprise that you studied Plato in university.

        What did you major in if you don’t mind me asking? 😉
        Quid Pro Quo
        I studied psychology and English literature.

        Light…

      • Slayer Muser February 12, 2013 at 6:57 AM #

        [Of course I don’t mind. Ask me whatever you want.]

        Ancient History.

        Specifically: Greek and Roman Ancient History and Philosophy.

        I studied Plato et al in a module called “Theories of the Soul”:

        https://www.dur.ac.uk/faculty.handbook/module_description/?module_code=CLAS1531

        I was always curious, but this really kick-started my enthusiasm (Origin:
        1570–80; < Late Latin enthūsiasmus < Greek enthousiasmós, equivalent to enthousí ( a ) possession by a god ( énthous, variant of éntheos having a god within, equivalent to en- en-2 + -thous, -theos god-possessing + -ia y 3 ) + -asmos, variant, after vowel stems, of -ismos -ism).

        I bet psychology and English literature was fascinating. What was your favourite text? Or favourite subject or aspect (of both)?

        "Helllllloooo, Clarice!" Great film.

      • MYSOULSONICE February 23, 2013 at 3:27 AM #

        Slayer Muser…
        I am a little slow on answering your comments but I would rather take more time to give a quality answer.

        *I will reply to this one another time as I have to reflect on my favourite text of psychology and English literature.
        Great question!!!

        Peace…
        P.s. I loved Silence of The Lambs!
        Reading that book got me more interested in psychology in the first place.
        The movie was also spectacular.

      • Slayer Muser February 27, 2013 at 3:34 AM #

        Great film. “Helllllooooo, Clarice!”

        Multiple Miggs hadn’t quite mastered the art of showing affection towards females. (Just one scene that particularly sticks in my mind.)

        “Hannibal” great too. Awesome music.

        What a great character: Hannibal “The Cannibal” Lecter. And so well played by Anthony Hopkins.

      • MYSOULSONICE February 27, 2013 at 7:27 PM #

        Slayer Muser…
        Silence of the lambs is a great film.
        I shall have to put it on my films to re-watch list.

        Who is multiple miggs may I ask?
        Is it Buffalo Bill?
        I really don’t remember because its been that long since I saw the film.

        What music did you like from the film?

        I agree with you that the Hannibal Lecter archetype was so well played by Sir Anthony Hopkins.
        From what I remember, Hannibal was brilliant.
        This just adds to the creepiness to know that intellectually he was always three steps ahead of everyone.

        Clarice was really intelligent as well.
        I loved the intellectual dynamic between them.
        H
        Hannibal really respected her.

        Silence of The Lambs is on par with another favourite film…Se7en.
        Se7en
        I would have to re-watch both to tell you my favourite.
        Which do you prefer?
        They’re equally good.

        Peace…
        P.s. I love horror movies- more psychological thrillers and foreign horror.
        What about you?

  2. Slayer Muser February 28, 2013 at 7:50 AM #

    Multiple Miggs is the rather unsavoury character two cells down from Hannibal Lecter:

    “Hannibal” music I adored:

    I like “Seven” too, but for depth and range The Lecter series is a league above.

    Don’t know much about horror. “The Exorcist” (1973) is classic. “The Blair Witch Project” (1999), “28 Days Later…” (2002) and “The Amityville Horror” (2005) were good. Any recommendations for films that will make me soil my underpants?

    • MYSOULSONICE March 2, 2013 at 4:24 AM #

      Slayer Muser…
      Multiple Miggs is so disturbing 0_0

      As for the Se7en and The Silence of The Lambs comparison…
      It wasn’t really fair since Seven is really a stand alone movie.
      I thouroughly enjoyed both.

      You mentioned 28 Days Later and you stumbled upon one of my favourite genres of horror…apocalyptic/survivalist horror.
      I also happen to love zombie movies and shows.

      Have you seen The Walking Dead?
      The Walking Dead
      I am in love with it.
      {I have a post in the works}.

      As for my horror recommendations, there are many.
      I love foreign horror and psychological horror.
      Specifically I love Japanese, French, Spanish and Korean horror- but I am open to any country’s representation of horror.

      Here are some recommendations off the top of my head…
      {I will add more later on}.
      Martyrshttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7Qx2dT-lUw
      Calvaire…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hn3oba5HmH8
      À l’intérieur…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibP9PUdEmwk
      Let Me In…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sZJUgsZ56vQ
      Ils…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9Djvi1-k0s
      El Orfanato…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oXfHOY3CC0g
      Audition…
      Kairo…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyDf4igNJ38
      Cure…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ayyP1ELch0c
      REC…
      Oldboy…
      Ichi The Killer…I haven’t seen it but heard of it so I can’t fully recommend it.

      Well, I better get some sleep as I have to get up early.
      I will respond to your other comments another time.

      Peace…
      P.s. It is a very foggy night tonight…creepy and exciting!
      Foggy Night

      • Slayer Muser March 4, 2013 at 2:07 AM #

        Yes, Miggs isn’t that nice.

        I like the apocalyptic / survivalist too. (I bet you loved “I Am Legend”.) And their parodies. You seen “Shaun of the Dead” (2004): http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0365748/ ? Check it out. V funny.

        That is an amazingly comprehensive horror movie list. Well done and thank you. I will buy an extra bumper pack of nappies and slowly start making my way through the list. My colleague said “Ils” was shit-the-bed frightening. Is this true? Is “The Ring” scary / any good?

        Must watch “The Walking Dead”. Cheers for the reminder.

        Good final pic. Were there any howling wolves?

      • MYSOULSONICE March 4, 2013 at 11:49 AM #

        Slayer Muser…
        I have not seen Sean of the dead.
        Is it horror/comedy?

        About I am Legend…
        I didn’t really care for it probably because I don’t care for Will Smith as an actor.

        I actually hope to add more to my horror movie recommendations.
        Those were just the ones off the top of my head.

        Ils was scary.
        The Ring was cool but not scary.

        My threshold for fear has changed since I started watching foreign horror.

        “Hollywood” horror does not scare me much anymore.
        Actually I think David Lynch films can be more haunting than most American horror films {especially when they are diluted remakes of better foreign films}.

        I think Martyrs, Audition and Calvaire will be the most disturbing.
        Martyrs

        To be honest, I was even hesitant about recommending them but you are pre-warned.Martyrs Disturbed
        I am curious about your reaction.

        Those movies got to me the most because they stay with you.
        {Don’t worry, they do not go past certain ethical barriers because there are certain horror films I will not watch}.
        Martyrs does have violence and gore but it is cerebral.
        There is a very intricate back story to it.
        There are layers of deeper meanings.
        It is really one to discuss.

        Another movie in the same vein albeit different subject matter is Antichrist.

        It is chilling to say the least.
        {I would love to hear your thoughts about this one}.

        Yes, you must watch The Walking Dead!!!
        You will love it- especially if you love survivalist/apocalytpic horror.
        And then we can discuss it 😉

        No, there were no howling wolves that night- that I knew of.
        Perhaps on your end?

        Peace..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hello world! « 2013yearbookblog - October 20, 2012

    […] Reflection for today…To Live Is The Rarest Thing In The World -Oscar Wilde (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

  2. నా మాట … ఆస్కార్ వైల్డ్, ఐరిష్ కవి. « అనువాదలహరి - November 11, 2012

    […] Reflection for today…To Live Is The Rarest Thing In The World -Oscar Wilde (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

Does This Awaken Your Soul???

