Reflection for today…The Seduction of Consumerism -Chuck Palahniuk

28 Aug

“Are these things really better than the things I already have?

Or am I just trained to be dissatisfied with what I have now?” 

― Chuck PalahniukLullaby

Art by Barbara Kruger

*

This incisive quote reminds me of Chuck Palahniuk’s other novel Fight Club which was made into an enlightening film called Fight Club– one of my favourite films. 

{I highly recommend watching Fight Club because of the acidic social commentary, intriguing story and excellent acting}.

Here is the trailer in case you are interested:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SUXWAEX2jlg

In essence, Chuck Palahniuk is alluding to commodity fetishism. The term that Karl Marx invented to describe how commodities are being fetishized and given an intrinsic value. It analyzes how the means of production and the relationships between consumers and workers are being obscured. {I apologize for the poor definition but I hope to elaborate on this in future posts}.

This quote asks us to re-consider our consumerist urges and desires.

Why do I really want a new thing?

Do I really need it?

Or do I simply just want it?

Why do I want it?

Do I just have a materialist itch to scratch?

Is there actually anything wrong with the one I have or am I just getting caught up in the consumerist zeitgeist?

These are questions we can ask ourselves…

Peace & Namaste…

*

For more information on the author Chuck Palahniuk, please click on this link to go to his official website:

http://chuckpalahniuk.net/

Fight Club the book :

http://chuckpalahniuk.net/books/fight-club

For more information on Fight Club the film, please click on this link to go to the Internet Movie Database Page for Fight Club:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0137523/

For more information on Banksy, the mysterious and elusive graffiti artist, please click on this link to go to his official website:

http://www.banksy.co.uk/

One Response to “Reflection for today…The Seduction of Consumerism -Chuck Palahniuk”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fight Club - September 21, 2012

    […] Reflection for today…The Seduction of Consumerism -Chuck Palahniuk (mysoulsonice.wordpress.com) […]

Does This Awaken Your Soul???

