Reflection for today…The Enlightenment of Reading -Ezra Pound

25 Aug

“Man reading should be man intensely alive.

The book should be a ball of light in one’s hand.”

– Ezra Pound

Designed by Dutch firm Studiomeiboom, The Enlightenment illuminates your shelf rather your soul.
Made from plexiglass and lit by an energy-saving bulb, the lamp plugs into an outlet with a standard cord.

*

During my hunt for pictures in the universe of the internet, I came across a brilliant idea from a WordPress blog called: Words&Words.

He has an inventory of all the books he has read.

Recently, he has even added dates. Eventually he says that he will even organize it in alphabetical order.

What a clever idea.

Would you ever keep a reading inventory?

{Most people only keep reading lists}.

Here is the link if you are interested: Words&Words Reading Inventory

*

Goodreads is an excellent place to create readings lists and your reading inventory.

It really is a dream website for lovers of books.

Peace & Namaste.

10 Responses to “Reflection for today…The Enlightenment of Reading -Ezra Pound”

  1. royjackson694 August 26, 2012 at 11:24 AM #

    Reblogged this on RoysBlog.

    • MYSOULSONICE August 27, 2012 at 11:20 PM #

      RoysBlog…
      Thank you so much for re-blogging and for reading.
      I am deeply grateful 😉

      Peace & Namaste…
      Fire of Love -Rassouli

  2. Jas Baku August 27, 2012 at 9:42 AM #

    An inventory of all the books I’ve read? There’ve been so many! Couldn’t possibly remember them all, or do justice to the best ones. But I agree – if what you read lit up your life a little, it was worth reading.
    (* speaking of such, what was that Tich Nhat Hanh pocket book called again? I’ve lost the link… )

  3. Jas Baku September 14, 2012 at 1:24 AM #

    * Looks like neither of us created the karma to have that little book right now. At least we’ve managed to scrape enough together to browse it online. Thanks for that link.
    * Thank you 🙂 I shall look forward to reading your comments.
    * What are those letters? They’re fascinating.

    • MYSOULSONICE September 14, 2012 at 1:30 PM #

      Jas Baku
      Could you please elaborate more on this “creating the karma” theory?
      Is it like manifesting?
      I am interested in this but I haven’t done enough research about it.

      As for the letters…I found them while looking for pictures for upcoming blog posts.
      According to the artist…
      “I have just completed my entry for the end of year member’s show at 69 Smith St Gallery.
      The theme was “Recipe’ and I was struggling to find a thread that appealed… then it came to me. Alchemy of Love. Here is the image I had printed today. It has evolved several weeks – with many iterations. So many of the classic alchemy symbols could be applied to love.
      It is a digital print, 50cm x 70 cm framed.”

      Here is this link if you are interested:

      *I am fascinated by alchemy, alchemical processes & how they relate to life.

      To be honest, I have not felt inspired to write a post since the last draft I was working on.
      Has this happened to you?

      It is about the suicide forest in Japan.
      Have you heard of it?
      After learning a little about it, I felt like I had nothing insightful or important to say about it.
      I still hope to get the courage to write about it eventually.
      Suicide is not an easy subject but it is important to discuss.
      *I totally believe in mental health advocacy and education.

      Peace & Namaste…
      Alchemy

      • Jas Baku September 16, 2012 at 7:51 PM #

        * I don’t believe karma is a theory, more a fact. It’s how our world works. Like E=MC2 or gravity. But it’s much less obvious, because karma generally takes more than a few lifetimes to ripen.Check out Karma – the Cosmic Boomerang http://wp.me/p1ZGTS-1eF et al!
        * “So many of the classic alchemy symbols could be applied to love.” That’s just so cool 🙂
        * I’ve no shortage of inspiration – just energy and time!
        * I’ve not heard of the suicide forest in Japan. Sounds awful. I’ll investigate. But I do agree with you, So many people are affected by suicide and mental health issues, but they’re treated as taboo, which exacerbates the misery. Not best. Homage to you for speaking out _/\_

      • MYSOULSONICE September 17, 2012 at 12:40 PM #

        Jas Baku…
        Thank you for your insightful response.
        I am aware of the universal law of karma.
        I just didn’t know what you meant by creating the karma.
        Perhaps you meant that we did not create the karma in the past 😉

        Peace & Namaste…
        Sherilyn Fenn Dreamy

Does This Awaken Your Soul???

