Reflection for today…A Book Is Like A Key -Franz Kafka

11 Jul

“Many a book is like a key to unknown chambers

within the castle of one’s own self.”

-Franz Kafka

6 Responses to “Reflection for today…A Book Is Like A Key -Franz Kafka”

  1. Christina ~ July 12, 2012 at 5:05 AM #

    Incredible, thought provoking quote…intriquing 🙂

    • MYSOULSONICE July 12, 2012 at 7:21 AM #

      Christina…
      I love the metaphor of locked rooms in our mind.
      I like to imagine our mind containing many rooms.
      We have the key to only some of the rooms.
      Rilke is astute in observing that books are the key to open those rooms– in our metaphorical minds or souls.

      There is a Rainer Maria Rilke quote that I will be posting shortly that also speaks of “locked rooms” in regards to the questions in our lives and truly living those questions.

      Thank you for commenting.

      Kind Regards.
      Orchid

      • Christina ~ July 13, 2012 at 12:40 AM #

        I really really like the idea of ‘rooms in our mind’. I believe that too…I have some I’m not ready for and some I choose not to look at…for now! Very intriguing!! 🙂

      • Christina ~ July 13, 2012 at 5:20 AM #

        I love it too! It’s how I always pictured the way things/people/emotions/etc were organized inside my head…in rooms. Some of which I can come and go as I please and some which are locked up tight and I don’t have the key yet. Wonderful metaphor! 🙂

      • MYSOULSONICE July 16, 2012 at 12:26 AM #

        Christina…
        I love metaphors!
        They are so vital in expressing our inner life and life overall.
        Thanks for your comment and for reading.
        Cheers.

  2. amberqvaldezoz September 13, 2012 at 12:51 AM #

    Reblogged this on Amber Valdez Post.

Does This Awaken Your Soul???

